Players gonna play…

Dave Zirin takes us on a fancy history lesson about the NCAA and the paying of players under the table.  I’m not sure what triggered this blog, but it is certainly an interesting topic. I think Zirin is suggesting that players should be paid. We’ve heard about some players that have been bribed or boosted. Do you remember Reggie Bush and what happened at USC? That was the first example that popped in my head. Hey, it’s recent…kind of.  It’s in some ways a form of cheating.

There is not a doubt in my mind that this is something that goes on now.  I mean what happened to Bush may not have been yesterday, but it happened. The question of breaking rules or losing is still being addressed by colleges, coaches, and athletes.

Back in the 40’s and 50’s the colleges in New York were caught and students were arrested, according to Zirin.  I don’t know what the punishments actually are today, but I have heard at the least athletes can lose their scholarships. Bush was stripped of everything that he won while at USC.

I guess you can stand around and point fingers, but where would you point them? Let’s start with the schools, they get tons of money each year from the benefit of the athletes. Just assuming that a full ride is a fair compensation, really?!? Not all students athletes are on a scholarship but are held to the same standards. Ok, the athletic department’s revenues may help fund research, while other departments help keep tuition costs down. There are still others that profit from the student-athletes.

How about the coaching staff and their ethics.  The knowledge of illegal payouts and bribes, but there is nothing done to stop it. These things continue to happen because the job depends on winning. This could be what is meant by losing games or breaking rules. Coaches are choosing to break rules to win.

Is there pressure from the alumni? Pressure to look the other way, and make changes when things don’t go their way? Quite a few schools have a large population of alumni donors. In order to buy season tickets to some schools, there is a required donation, this is an opportunity to place an additional donation.

What about the parents for not raising better young people. What you learn at home you take into the world with you. EVERYTHING begins at home and this is no exception.

As far as the athletes, they are trying to get what they can. It’s not right, but they have a sparkle in their eye. Ethics are out the window at this point.

The NCAA. The punishments need to be swift and permanent, no matter how severe. Maybe it is time to evaluate the rules, and maybe there are some changes that need to be made.

So what does this really mean to me? If you did pay student-athletes, what would that mean to the fan, other students? Higher ticket prices, more tuition? In that case…NO. I think the NCAA just needs to step up their game.

Let’s not crack our helmets.

As I was going through catching up on columns from Edge of Sports, I ran across one that I overlooked. Here I thought this was something that Dave Zirin decided not to talk about. Of course not, what was I thinking. When I say this, I’m referring to the release of Payton Manning from the Indianapolis Colts. I’m not sure how I overlooked this, and you can slap my wrist now. *extends arm*

Let me begin by saying that this is not recent news, and we are all now aware that Manning has been traded to Denver. I’ll tell you what I think, I don’t like it.  Although I’m not going to go and make a big stink about it…mainly because there isn’t much I can do about it now, is there? I’ll support Manning no matter where he plays (even if I’m not a Denver fan).

I don’t think that was the point of the blog post. I think Zirin’s point was that players don’t get much loyalty from their team owners.  They kind of get passed around. I think a lot of people get into an uproar about it without realizing it is a business just like anything else. The only difference is the product. We are the consumers of this product and the NFL is the provider.

Players are traded day in and day out.  We may not notice them all, but it does happen.  It’s only a big deal when it’s a WELL known player. When Tim Tebow was released from Denver they got a few low-end draft picks and left Tebow with a stipulation in his contract. Tebow may not have gotten them to the Super Bowl, but he was a part of a pretty decent season for Denver, at least from what I can remember. Those who were not a fan of Tebow didn’t care, and those who were made sure to say what they had to say. Of course, there is NO comparison between Manning and Tebow, but you get my point. Sometimes the players get the shaft when they are traded. In addition, the public makes a bigger deal about it than necessary.

There again, this is a business and sometimes someone has to get the short end of the stick.  Just like companies that downsize. The most loyal employee could possibly be a name on the cut list.  It is never a fair deal, but it is what it is. Nothing we can do about it.  That is how the corporate world works.

Whether we want to believe it or not…football is a business.