Wow…we are getting NOWHERE!

OK, I have a confession…I don’t pay that much attention to hockey. So I’m just learning about this.

The recent blog Dave Zirin writes is about the Washington Capitals win over the Boston Bruins in game seven and the outrage it sparked.

Bruins fans give Joel Ward their two cents on Twitter. (The link may eventually be disabled due to the offensive content) As I’m reading these tweets…I’m surprised and not surprised all at the same time. Of course, there are fans that are very passionate about the team they support. This is evidence of said passion and maybe that’s why I’m not surprised by the upset. But, Ward is a black player and hockey is supposed to be a “white” sport. Is the problem with Ward making the winning score, or being on the team altogether? The tweets posted is an example of taking that passion way to far. I’m surprised that this is still how it is, and I’m not surprised either. I know that makes no sense. Let me say this…we are still spreading hate so this is the result of it and it will continue.

This looks like a simple case of “heat of the moment” and all it takes is one person to set the trend. This does not make it ok.

Did anyone catch the North Carolina v. Creighton game? Remember Grant Gibbs, the wink, and Ethan Wragge? The pitfall from that was mainly aimed at Wragge and a foul, but it’s a similar situation. Carolina fans were wishing death on this kid.

Here we have N-bombs and “hope you hang” tweets. Really people? Why is TWITTER not filtering such hate? (Or any other site these comments were posted on)

Zirin stated in his blog that racism is not a Boston thing. I slightly agree racism is still EVERYWHERE! On the other hand, I think there are certain states where you see it a little more than others. That is all I’m going to say about that.

Ok. This will be my last blog about Zirin’s column. I may still read it from time to time, but not regularly. Although, there are a few things that I can take away from following his blog:

1. Check my facts. I’ve had to do so a few times reading this blog and here is yet another example: “Tim Thomas is the player who created a sports media firestorm … after the Bruins won the 2012 Stanley Cup”. If the Bruins lost game seven how will they win the Stanley Cup?

2. Interact with my readers. I don’t think I have ever seen Zirin comment back to his readers. I also notice his readers tend to debate with each other, so maybe mediating is not a bad idea.

3. Use appropriate length based on my topic.

I wonder if Zirin reads my blog about his blog?

Almost 18, financially responsible and NOT Pregnant.

Not quite what you expected it is? Yeah, it was hard work I’ll tell you that. I’m pretty proud of that. I only have one more to get there. The second time should be easy, right?

I just sent my daughter off to work and started thinking about it a little. My actual thought was: HOLY SH*T! My daughter is going to be 18 in three months. I know that sounds like a long time, but it actually sneaks up on you. That’s only THREE months. First of all, this makes me feel OLD. Secondly, this may sound upsetting, but the norm is to be working on your second child before your 18th birthday. No, not my baby

My relationship with my daughter is different from what you normally see, at least I feel like it is. Most people see us together and assume that we are friends rather than mother and daughter. However, we have some order to how we do things: Mom FIRST, a friend later. {As mentioned in a previous post}

Teach, guide, and lead by example. Maybe not always in that order, but those are my key ingredients to mothering. This is why my daughter has bills (only two). I’m sorry, paying your phone bill until you’re 25 is not going to happen. What does that teach them? Dependency. Let’s learn to survive on our own instead.

This does work if you’re consistent and you communicate. Let me say that again, be consistent. Communicate. Sometimes I have to say it more than once because my plate is so heavy right now. I need to make sure that I’m keeping myself on track. No one ever said being a mother was easy. I will say this; sometimes the apple doesn’t fall far from the tree. Yeah, its cliche I know, but TRUE!

The majority of my friends have younger children and they haven’t reached these milestones yet. Just an FYI, when your children start reaching those ages…you laugh, cry, and drink wine! e.g.The Drivers License…smile because you can send them to the store whilst you cook, cry when your insurance DOUBLES (just when you got it SO low), which leads you to your favorite bottle of wine.

Oh, wait…driving is not a right. It’s a privilege. I know what you’re thinking, we are supposed to pay for the insurance when they start driving right? Au contraire mon amie, you want to drive you must be licensed and insured. This means the driver pays. In a previous post, I talked about tattoos…that’s not the only thing she pays for.

What do you think is going to happen when you are out on your own? The bills are not going to pay for themselves? I’ve been trying to get that to happen for YEARS…still nothing. *insert laugh* Anyway, her bills now are nothing compared to what they will be when she is on her own. The point is to teach her how to be mindful of her money and not to live outside of her means.

Don’t get me wrong…she is SPOILED. Yes, I’m that mom, but my children know the deal. I know that how I do things is working because they make me proud!

For the record, I’m 28. Now, how many times I’ve celebrated my 28th birthday is another story. I know you were sitting there wondering how old I was, with a child of that age.

Me and that kid…we have fun! =]