Pat Summitt…the end of an ERA.

Ok I will admit, I didn’t read the whole column about Pat Summitt written by Dave Zirin. Do I need to? I think the just of it is in the first couple of graphs. The length of this might be more than I bargained for. I also noticed there are no comments as of the time of writing this.  If new ones are posted, I haven’t seen them. After reading this column, I did look for a few other things that are online about Summitt just to see the different angles. I didn’t really find too much that was different. What I mostly saw was a brief summary of her announcement and then highlights of her career.

Pat Summitt has coached the Tennessee Lady Vols since 1974 and has recently announced her retirement.

Ok, retiring before you’re 65 is not typical however Summitt retires for health reasons. Summitt was a trooper this past season, taking the Lady Vols to the Elite Eight despite her situation. I think it’s because she was just not ready to retire. Just to catch you up, Summitt was diagnosed with early onset Alzheimer’s.

Can we give this woman her HALL OF FAME jacket! This woman did the damn thang!! Okay…back to being serious.

Summitt announced her diagnosis late last year. Doctors suggested Summit retire then and she was NOT having it. She talks about it a little. (the second hyperlink takes you to the story)

Zirin said Summitt is an icon and I will agree with that.

I think being concerned with her health is important. Although Summitt’s shoes will be HARD to fill, she is making the right choice…right now.

Now let’s all CONGRATULATE Coach Summitt on a Phenomenal career!!!

Penny for your thoughts. =]

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.