A quick look back and then move around.

I’ll be honest, taking Social Media was a requirement and this is what I went into this class thinking: My only thoughts of it really were to learn how to effectively network myself. What I was NOT prepared for was the overwhelming amount of social networking I was about to embark on. I’m on everything. I am CONNECTED! (sarcasm) I Tweet more and I Facebook less…does that surprise you? Well, I’m not surprised. Maybe there is a little bit of engagement thrown in the mix…actually a LOT.

“Let us not look back in anger, nor forward in fear, but around in awareness.” -James Thurber

How to effectively brand yourself, connect, and be connected to your audience via social networking sites. That is what I actually learned.

I’m branding myself, and not like they do cows. I just changed a few things around. I renamed my Twitter and Instagram to @ThePhotoTeek. {I’m sorry I can’t link you to Instagram, I wanted to, but you can search for me!!} Branding is smart work, not hard work. Should I do a Zuckerberg and drop the THE? (Or was that a Sean Parker? He did make the suggestion in the movie…HAHA)

I do plan to eighty-six Google+, sorry Carol, I am not a fan. However, I will stay on LinkedIn for professional reasons. =] Some things are just not for everyone, but there is only one way to find out. You MUST try it and see. What’s funny is, I’m usually the one telling people this, then my professor comes along and makes me take my own medicine. Thanks. I don’t think it was hard to swallow, I usually like to try things once. USUALLY…I put heavy emphasis on that word.

This class has given me a few things to work on this summer.

1. My sentence. Is it time to rephrase it a little?

2. My brand. Continue to tweak it.

3. EOC Social Media. They are really excited to implement this plan, so I’m going to finish what I started.

4. Write my own social media policy. Yes, even though it’s just me. (it should be pretty short)

5. Blogging. Pick a day and stay consistent.

Overall, I’m glad I took this class when I did. OK, Carol…it’s on to editing!! See you next semester!!

Congratulations to all the GRADUATING SENIORS!!

Penny for your thoughts. =]

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.